Cindi Lazzari Artist Advocate Award

TESLAW presents the Cindi Lazzari Artist Advocate Award to an individual or organization working in Texas who has been actively involved in advocating and supporting artist’s rights in the music business. The award is named for the late Cindi Lazzari, a Texas attorney who went far beyond the call of duty in her efforts to protect the rights of artists in the music industry.  

Nominations closed on October 1, 2019. Alissa McCain was announced as  the recipient of the 2019 Cindi Lazzari Artist Advocate Award and presented with a unique glass plaque created by African American contemporary artist Rejina Thomas on November 20, 2019 at the Stephen F. Austin Hotel in Austin, Texas. 


Alissa McCain (2019) – serial head of Texas arts nonprofits (Austin Creative Alliance, TALA, AMF, Capitol View Arts)

Margaret Moser (2013) – journalist and longtime music editor for the Austin Chronicle

Juan Tejeda (2012) – musician, arts administrator, and activist

Texas Accountants & Lawyers for the Arts (2011) 

Nikki Rowling (2010) – co-founder of the Austin Music Foundation and author of the Austin Music Census

Robin Shivers (2009) – artist manager and founder of the Health Alliance for Austin Musicians

SIMS Foundation (2008)

Casey Monahan (2007) – first head of the Governor’s Texas Music Office

*Nominees need not necessarily be attorneys and may include organizations.

Nominations are accepted year round and should be sent by e-mail only to and should include the following information: (1) the nominee’s name; (2) the nominee’s employment and contact information; (3) a brief statement (not to exceed 100 words) as to why the individual believes the nominee should receive the award; and (4) a short bio of the nominee (if available).